© 2024 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Democrats Flip Five Statehouse Seats, GOP Retains Control Of House, Senate

Ohio Statehouse Legislative Chamber
Bob Hall
Ohio Statehouse Legislative Chamber

Democrats gained some ground in the Statehouse in this midterm election, but won’t shift power in either chamber.

Republicans have retained their supermajority in the Ohio House, despite Democrats' hopes that strong candidates and national momentum would help them cut into GOP legislative majorities.

All 99 seats in the Ohio House were on the ballot, including the 66 held by Republicans and 33 by Democrats. The Democrats did flip five Republican seats, including three suburban Columbus districts that are currently held by term-limited representatives. 

In the 19th district, which includes Gahanna and New Albany, Democrat Mary Lightbody defeated Republican Tim Barhorst.

In the 21st district, which includes Dublin and Worthington, Democrat Dr. Beth Liston defeated Republican Stu Harris.

In the 24th district, which includes Upper Arlington, Hilliard and western Franklin County, Democrat Allison Russo defeated Republican Erik Yassenoff.

Democrats also took control of one house seat near Akron and one south of Cleveland.

Democrats did loose a seat they held in the Youngstown area, which still votes blue overall but where Republicans are gaining ground.

None of the 65 incumbents running in the House lost, nor did any of the seven incumbents in the state Senate.

Seventeen of 33 Senators were on the ballot, and Democrats lost one of their nine seats as Republicans flipped the district held by Joe Schiavoni, who’s also from the Youngstown area, who had run for governor earlier this year.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.