© 2024 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Ohio Election Results: Statewide Races


Republicans will hold onto all of Ohio's statewide offices, although Democrats will maintain control of one U.S. Senate seat.

WOSU is bringing you comprehensive coverage of the 2018 midterm elections, both in Ohio and across the country. Below, watch live results for Ohio's statewide races, courtesy of the Associated Press.

Mike DeWine led the Republican ticket, winning the governor race over Democrat Richard Cordray. His running mate, Jon Husted, will become lieutenant governor.

It was a good night for Republicans all around. Frank LaRose won the race for Secretary of State, Dave Yost won for Attorney General, Keith Faber won for Auditor, and Robert Sprague won for Treasurer.

Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio) has won re-election to a third term, besting Republican U.S. Rep. Jim Renacci. Brown had been the overwhelming favorite heading into the night.

Issue 1, the drug sentencing ballot amendment, failed to pass.

Despite being locked out of the state offices, Democrats will pick up two seats on the Ohio Supreme Court, as Michael Donnelly and Melody Stewart each won their races Tuesday. The court had been exclusively Republican following the resignation of Justice Bill O'Neill last December.

Rep. Troy Balderson has won again against Democrat Danny O'Connor in Ohio's 12th District. It was their second match-up following a tight August special election, but Balderson increased his support this time around: He won by 4 percent on Tuesday, compared to his August margin of less than 1 percent.

Democrats Rep. Marcia Fudge and Rep. Joyce Beatty have both won re-election to the U.S. House, in Ohio's 11th and 3rd Districts, respectively. Democratic Rep. Marcy Kaptur also won re-election in Ohio's 9th District, as did Rep. Tim Ryan in the 13th District.

Among Republicans, Rep. Steve Stivers overcome a challenge from Democrat Rick Neal to win re-election in Ohio's 15th District. One of Ohio's two open seats, the 16th District, will go to Republican Anthony Gonzalez. And Rep. Steve Chabot has fended off a challenge from Democrat Aftab Pureval to win re-election in Ohio's 1st District.

Rep. Bill Johnson will serve another term in the 6th District, Rep. Jim Jordan won in the 4th District, and Rep. Warren Davidson won in the 8th District. Rep. Bob Latta won re-election to Ohio's 5th District, Rep. Brad Wenstrup won in the 2nd District, and Rep. Bob Gibbs won in the 7th. Rep. Mike Turner and Rep. Dave Joyce won re-election in Ohio's 10th and 14th Districts, respectively.

These are the latest updates from around Ohio:

Statewide Offices



Issue 1



U.S. Senate



U.S House



Gabe Rosenberg joined WOSU in October 2016. As digital news editor, Gabe reports breaking news and edits all content for the WOSU website, as well as manages the station's social media accounts.