© 2024 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Cincinnati A Finalist To Host Soccer's World Cup If United Bid Awarded 2026 Tournament

The U.S. Mens National Soccer Team plays Panama in a 2017 Gold Cup match in Nashville.
Tana Weingartner
The U.S. Mens National Soccer Team plays Panama in a 2017 Gold Cup match in Nashville.

Cincinnati is a finalist to host a World Cup match if the U.S. is chosen as one of the hosts of the 2026 World Cup.

The USA, Canada and Mexico are jointly bidding for the event. The United Bid committee Thursday announced Cincinnati as one of the 23 finalist cities.

If selected to host the tournament, international soccer's governing body, FIFA, will choose the final 16 host cities.

"We are confident that the combination of our 23 existing world-class stadiums, 150 existing elite training facilities, and our modern and interconnected transportation network can help FIFA to achieve new records for attendance and revenue, which will allow the entire global football community to improve and grow," says John Kristick, executive director of the United Bid in a statement.

Games in Cincinnati would be played at Paul Brown Stadium.

The United Bid says it envisions selling more than 5.8 million tickets, "generating in excess of $2 billion in ticketing revenue and ensuring every stadium for every match will be filled with passionate supporters from around the world."

The United States last hosted the World Cup in 1994.

The 23 finalist cities are:


Copyright 2021 91.7 WVXU. To see more, visit .

Tana Weingartner earned a bachelor's degree in communication from the University of Cincinnati and a master's degree in mass communication from Miami University. Most recently, she served as news and public affairs producer with WMUB-FM. Ms. Weingartner has earned numerous awards for her reporting, including several Best Reporter awards from the Associated Press and the Ohio Society of Professional Journalists, and a regional Murrow Award. She served on the Ohio Associated Press Broadcasters Board of Directors from 2007 - 2009.