© 2024 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
WOSB 91.1 FM in Marion is off the air. In the meantime, listen online or with the WOSU mobile app.

U.S. Attorney Steps Aside As Successor Is Named

United States Attorney Ben Glassman
Ann Thompson
United States Attorney Ben Glassman

Benjamin Glassman, U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of Ohio, is formally announcing his resignation, effective 3 p.m. on Nov. 1.Glassman was appointed by Attorney General Loretta Lynch under the Obama administration in October 2016. He's being replaced by Trump appointee and assistant U.S. Attorney for the Southern District Dave DeVillers, whose appointment was announced in August.

In a letter announcing his resignation, Glassman lists out some of the notable cases under his term, including the nation's "first-ever indictment and extradition of an alleged Chinese intelligence officer for attempted economic espionage;" the prosecution and subsequent life sentence of a leader of the MS-13 gang; and thefirst federal carfentanil-trafficking case.

Glassman sought to take a hard line on opioids, including involvement in a federal opioid task force, and violations of federal civil rights laws.

Law enforcement around the region offered words of support on Glassman's behalf in his resignation letter. Cincinnati Police Chief Eliot Isaac says, "Under Attorney Glassman's leadership there have been several critical cases that have led to the successful prosecution of priority offenders who were causing significant harm to our community through gun violence and illicit drug trafficking."

Copyright 2021 91.7 WVXU. To see more, visit .

Tana Weingartner earned a bachelor's degree in communication from the University of Cincinnati and a master's degree in mass communication from Miami University. Most recently, she served as news and public affairs producer with WMUB-FM. Ms. Weingartner has earned numerous awards for her reporting, including several Best Reporter awards from the Associated Press and the Ohio Society of Professional Journalists, and a regional Murrow Award. She served on the Ohio Associated Press Broadcasters Board of Directors from 2007 - 2009.