© 2024 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Deters Won't Lead Tensing Retrial

Prosecutors Gibson (left), Deters and Piepmeier during the trial of Ray Tensing Nov. 3, 2016..
Prosecutors Gibson (left), Deters and Piepmeier during the trial of Ray Tensing Nov. 3, 2016..

The Hamilton County Prosecutor won't be at the helm for the upcoming retrial of former UC police officer Ray Tensing. Prosecutor Joe Deters is assigning Chief Assistant Prosecutors Seth Tieger and Stacey DeGraffenreid.In a statement Deters says he, Mark Piepmeier and Rick Gibson will focus instead on the re-sentencing of Anthony Kirkland. He was found guilty in 2010 and sentenced to death for the murder of two teenagers.

Deters says Tieger and DeGraffenreid will bring a new perspective to the Tensing case.

"Seth and Stacey will bring a fresh set of eyes to the case and will have the time necessary to prepare for the retrial. This was a hard decision for me, as I feel strongly about prosecuting the Tensing case myself, but it is crucial that both cases have prosecutors assigned who can properly prepare."The Cincinnati Black Lawyers Association offered support for the change saying both Tieger and DeGraffenreid are good attorneys.

"It seems like Prosecutor Joe Deters is employing a fresh set of eyes to the case and selected people that have the relevant experience to get the job done," said President Donyetta Bailey in a statement.

Tensing is charged with murder and voluntary manslaughter for the shooting death of Sam DuBose during a 2015 traffic stop. His first trial ended late last year in a hung jury.

His retrial is set for May 25 in the courtroom of Judge Leslie Ghiz.

Copyright 2021 91.7 WVXU. To see more, visit .

Tana Weingartner earned a bachelor's degree in communication from the University of Cincinnati and a master's degree in mass communication from Miami University. Most recently, she served as news and public affairs producer with WMUB-FM. Ms. Weingartner has earned numerous awards for her reporting, including several Best Reporter awards from the Associated Press and the Ohio Society of Professional Journalists, and a regional Murrow Award. She served on the Ohio Associated Press Broadcasters Board of Directors from 2007 - 2009.