© 2024 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Cincinnati Ballet Takes The Nutcracker To Kennedy Center

Tana Weingartner

The Cincinnati Ballet is taking its popular production of The Nutcracker on the road. The company was selected to present seven performances this weekend at Washington D.C.'s famous Kennedy Center.

CEO Victoria Morgan says it's an honor to perform at the famous Kennedy Center. "They have the choice to pick any major ballet company in the country, and often it's major companies like American Ballet Theatre or Joffrey Ballet, and now, Cincinnati Ballet doing our Nutcracker. They told me they sat around with the staff and they all watched it and they laughed hysterically and decided they wanted it."

She adds this is an exciting opportunity for the dancers and the ballet.

"I think it will really lift the reputation and awareness of Cincinnati Ballet, not only locally but certainly around the country."

Each year the Kennedy Center chooses one company to perform The Nutcracker.

Maestro Carmon DeLeone will conduct The Kennedy Center Opera House Orchestra and D.C.-area children will join the dancers onstage along with the Arlington Children’s Chorus.

Cincinnati Ballet performances at the Kennedy Center are as follows:Wednesday, November 23 – 7:30 pm

Friday, November 25 – 1:30 pm

Friday, November 25 – 7:30 pm

Saturday, November 26 – 1:30 pm

Saturday, November 26 – 7:30 pm

Sunday, November 27 – 1:30 pm

Sunday, November 27 – 7:30 pm

Copyright 2021 91.7 WVXU. To see more, visit .

Tana Weingartner earned a bachelor's degree in communication from the University of Cincinnati and a master's degree in mass communication from Miami University. Most recently, she served as news and public affairs producer with WMUB-FM. Ms. Weingartner has earned numerous awards for her reporting, including several Best Reporter awards from the Associated Press and the Ohio Society of Professional Journalists, and a regional Murrow Award. She served on the Ohio Associated Press Broadcasters Board of Directors from 2007 - 2009.