© 2024 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Classical 101

Percussion Soloists Cameron Leach and Colleen Bernstein Team Up In New Works

Percussionist Colleen Bernstein performs in the WOSU studios.
Nick Houser
Percussionist Colleen Bernstein performs in the WOSU studios.

Sometimes a snare drum is not just a snare drum.

Percussion soloists Cameron Leach and Colleen Bernstein took the drummer’s humble rat-a-tat-tats into the world of scat singing, hand drumming and other unexpected feats on a recent visit to the Classical 101 studio.

Leach and Bernstein gave us command performances of selections from percussion works composed during the last decade – some commissioned by Leach and Bernstein themselves.

Watch the video below as Cameron Leach drums and scat sings through a section from Tchik by French composer Nicolas Martynciow. Then, catch the funky vibe – pun intended – of the first movement of American composer David Skidmore’s I Leave You the Real World for solo vibraphone and electronics.

Also see and hear Bernstein perform Lindsay Vasko’s What Happens in Between, a work Bernstein commissioned and which is now quite possibly the first and only rudimentary snare drum solo by a woman composer. Finally, Bernstein performs Canadian composer Alexandre David’s Divertimento for vibraphone solo.

Cameron Leach and Colleen Bernstein perform “An Evening of Percussion” Saturday, Feb. 1 at 7 p.m. in the van Fleet Theater of the Columbus Performing Arts Center.

Stay Connected
Jennifer Hambrick unites her extensive backgrounds in the arts and media and her deep roots in Columbus to bring inspiring music to central Ohio as Classical 101’s midday host. Jennifer performed with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Civic Orchestra of Chicago before earning a Ph.D. in musicology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.