© 2024 WOSU Public Media
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Classical 101

From French Renaissance to Astor Piazzolla on Fretworks

On Fretworks Saturday evening at 7,  we have music ranging from 16th Century France and Italy to 20th Century England and Argentina. Renaissance Paris is represented by the important music publisher Pierre Ataingnant. Lutenist Ron McFarlane will have a couple of pieces from one of his collections as well as music by the Italian lutenist composer Juanambrosio Dalza dating from around 1508. The Capriol Suite from 1926 by English composer Peter Warlock, actually the pen-name of music critic Philip Heseltine, is a popular suite for string orchestra based on 16th Century dance tunes, but we're going to hear Christopher Parkening play an arrangement for guitar and orchestra. Guitarist David Russell will have music of the French Baroque composer Jean Baptist Loeillet, who settled in London in 1705.  His Harpsichord Suite No. 1 will be heard in an arrangement for the modern classical guitar. In 1985, Argentinian composer Astor Piazzolla wrote a double concerto for the International Guitar Festival in Liege, Belgium. It's written for the bandoneon, the small accordion-like instrument with push buttons instead of keys), guitar, and string orchestra. Julien Labro and Jason Vieaux are the soloists.  Here's a sample: http://youtu.be/UdC6tDu4sQs